TEN with F.I. Goldhaber

Form.Reborn is very pleased to feature a series of haiku by F.I. Goldhaber this week.  Her poetry has appeared in 3 Lights Gallery and The Rambler among many others.  Her book-length collection, Pairs of Poems, was published last year by Uncial Press.  We caught up with her while she was…well, we caught up with her.  And she was kind enough to answer a few questions.

  1. What was the first book/poem/phrase that rocked your world?
    Books and stories have always been a part of my life. My parents read to me from a very young age and one of my favorite books was Louis Untermeyer’s The Golden Treasury of Poetry collection — I literally cut my teeth on poetry. I can still recite parts of my favorite poems from that collection which include Alfred Noyes’ “The Highwayman,” Sir Walter Scott’s “Lochinvar,” Alfred Lord Tennyson’s “Lady Clare,” Ogden Nash’s “The Tale of Custard the Dragon,” T.S. Eliot ‘s “The Old Gumbie Cat,” and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow’s “Jemima” to name just a few.
  2. Dr. Who picks you up in the Tardis. Where/when do you go?
    Can he take me to Lowor, my own fantasy world? (You can learn more about it at http://www.lowor.com ).  I’ve written three novelettes and two novels set in that world with a third novel drafted and two more envisioned. (So far only one novelette has been published, “Finding Magic,” a prequel to the novel series .) It’s a beautiful world that I would love to spend more time in:  city-state government, craft-guild based social hierarchy, no religion, misogyny, or racism (and only the bad guys try to get away with sexism). No technology either, but magic works.
  3. What was your first published piece & where was it published?
    My first published pieces were in grade school. The first piece for which I got paid was a freelance feature I did back in the late seventies about a tattoo artist in Des Moines, WA . That was published by Robinson Newspapers a chain of weeklies that includes the West Seattle Herald, White Center News, Highline Times, and Des Moines News . I still have the clipping somewhere with the photograph I took of him in the mirror so you could see the art on both his back and his chest. The first fiction piece for which I received payment was “Finding Magic.” It won third place (which came with a check) in the Paul B. Duquette Memorial Short Science Fiction Contest and appeared in the anthology CrossTIME Science Fiction Anthology Vol. 2.
  4. Do you think the internet hurts or helps literature?
    What is literature? That’s a very vague term.  On the one hand, the Internet has made works available to people who would never have had access to those works. But by providing so much free content, it also makes it harder for people to earn money as writers. That in turn could make quality writing more difficult to find.  The Internet does make it easier to get published, which can be a boon or a burden. So much of what I read online is inaccurate and poorly written with horrible grammar, bad spelling, misused homonyms, etc. But there is also much of value available online. The problem many people have is sorting the schlock from the sublime as evidenced by the urban legends and other hoaxes constantly in circulation.
  5. What about authors?
    As a writer I would find it difficult to work without the Internet.  I do 80 percent of my research online. I use it to market my books and stories. My poetry collection, Pairs of Poems is available as an e-book, and I have erotica short stories for sale by an e-book publisher. Many of the ‘zines that have published my poetry are online only, some, like this one, combine online and print opportunities .
  6. When the well is dry, how do you fill it?
    If you’re referring to running out of things to write, I don’t understand the concept. I could write every day until I’m a hundred and I don’t believe I would be able to write all the ideas I currently have recorded.  Yet, I come up with more every day.
  7. Favorite writing tool?
    I write almost everything, except poetry, on my trusty laptop using WordPerfect which I first discovered in the early eighties. I have been translating brain waves into keyboard strokes for so long (daily since 1978) that’s the direct route for me to record my thoughts.
  8. Your biggest fans just burst into the room. How many are there & how do you react?
    P A R T Y Y Y Y !!!!!  Hey, my fans are wild and crazy too. The room will be full of people of all ages from all walks of life with all kinds of body art and hair in rainbow hues. My biggest problems is some will know the poetry/fantasy writer and some will know the erotica writer and they’ll all think they’re there to party with two different people.
  9. Why did you submit to Form.Reborn?
    I submitted to Form.Reborn because I was intrigued by the idea of short form poetry delivered by Twitter.  I find the concept of publishing novels and short stories on Twitter difficult to grasp. But Form.Reborn takes advantage of a form already designed to deliver concepts in few words and brings it to another audience.
  10. In the vast Poet Sea, I am: A mermaid.

In case you miss a few of F.I.’s haiku tweets, you will be able to catch the entire series on her author archive page starting 13 April 2009.  And if you missed any of our other poets, you can link to their work from the Form.Reborn page.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Thursday I was searching for Blogs related to email topics but more specifically to email marketing software review. I found your blog and find it intersting.

    Like

  2. jessiecarty says:

    Funny how things link on the internet isn’t it 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi, interesting post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for posting. I’ll definitely be coming back to your blog.

    Like

  4. grayestone says:

    Thanks! Looking forward to it;-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

