First Chapbook Accepted!

We have accepted the first chapbook that will be published in the Crane Chapbook Collection.  We will have more details on this upcoming book of poetry once we are closer to a release day.

I’m still reading submissions for Shape of a Box and for the chapbook series so keep sending them in!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. rachel mallino says:

    Hello editors!

    I have a few questions that I’m hoping you can answer –

    Why does your press charge such a high reading fee for chapbook manuscripts? I ask because I run Tilt Press (also out of Charlotte!!), and I know how much it costs to print chapbooks (using high quality card stock and printing paper). Why does your press take the money of poets seeking to be published rather than counting on your product to sell itself?

    I hope you can answer these questions for me, because I’m at a loss as how to interpret your astronomical reading fee for chapbooks. It costs less than two hundred dollars to print one chapbook. If you average a 175 manuscript submission rate – that’s a close 2,500 dollar profit for YOU without selling a single chapbook.

    Again, why not let your product sell, as opposed to taking money from poets?

    Like

  2. jessiecarty says:

    Hello Rachel,

    I wasn’t aware Tilt was out of Charlotte. Very nice! I wonder if I’ve seen you at any local events? Well, guess since you know who I am now I shouldn’t send my chapbook to you for consideration as I was going to..hmmm

    As for your query. My reading fee is not unusually high. I charge a rate similar to the majority of contests and other publishers who charge a reading fee (see places like Finishing Line who still charge $12 even as long as they have been in business). I understand that not everyone charges a fee. I chose to do so to, in part, to garner higher quality work from people who are serious about submitting. The work I have seen, so far, is of a high quality, even the books I have rejected.

    I’m also not just reading poetry. I am reading all genres and up to 45 pages of work which does take a great deal of time. Not to mention the time and expense of actually producing the chapbook. I doubt I will receive 175 manuscripts, but if I do, I will definitely consider dropping and/or doing away with the reading fee altogether. Of course, if I get that many I might not be able to keep reading manuscripts because there may be too many! So far I am WAY below that number. If I ever turn a profit I will definitely change our fees and payments to our writers.

    In addition, I provide everyone a short personal response and for those people who are published the publishing process is also very individualized.

    The first chapbook I am publishing, for example, is not going to be a card stock publication. It is going to be perfect bound with a full color cover. I don’t want to give away a personal contract at this time that is in process, but there will also be other benefits to that writer and any future writers I publish.

    My goal here isn’t to publish everyone who submits (but if everyone manuscript I received just blew me away I certainly would) I want to publish people whose chapbooks show amazing work that deserves to have a publishing credit. Even the work I have rejected so far, for the most part, has a chance of getting published in other locations.

    I am also a poet and I enter contests and pay reading fees. I am comfortable with them. I know some people are not. I’m glad your business model is working so well. $2500 profit! If that is what you are pulling in that is amazing! and Congrats!

    Thank you for your inquiry.

    Best,
    Jessie Carty
    -Managing Editor, Folded Word Press

    Like

  3. rachel mallino says:

    Hi Jessie –

    Not to be snarky, and I’ll keep my reply short – I, in no way, stated that I make a 2,500 profit. What I said was this: if you average a 175 manuscript submission rate with a 15.00 reading fee, that equation results in an almost 2,500 dollar profit BEFORE you (the publisher who charges a 15.00 reading fee) sell a single chapbook. While I do not create perfect bound chapbooks, my covers are full color. I don’t know the price of perfect binding or what the equipment cost is – but I have a hard time believing that to print one chapbook will cost you little more than 200.00.

    I disagree with your publishing practices. That’s very obvious at this point – I could go on and on about the contradictions in your explanation of a reading fee, but that wouldn’t do us any good. I did, however, want to come back and make clear what I said regarding the 2500 dollars.

    Like

  4. jessiecarty says:

    Hey Rachel,

    No, thanks for the correction. If I receive anywhere near 175 submissions then I will reduce or do away with my reading fee, but as it stands now that just isn’t the case.

    It is obvious we disagree about the ways you can go about being a publisher and I welcome debate and discussion. I truly (I am not being snarky or sarcastic here!) welcome your opinion and appreciate your passion for poetry, so much so that before you posted this I was going to invite you to be my next interview for Shape of a Box http://www.youtube.com/shapeofabox. That interview offers till stands or if I can help you promote your venture in other ways please email me to discuss.

    Feel free to email me at foldedwordpress (at)gmail.com if you are interested. I like what you are doing and I wish I had the ability to not charge reading fees at this time. I, honestly, agonized over using them and actually discussed it with a large group of people before I did so. It is the business model that is currently working for me and for a large number of publishers.

    But not to belabor the point, thanks again for you thoughts and I look forward to hearing from you. 🙂

    -Jessie

    Like

Leave a Reply

